Washington, D.C. – Today, Congresswoman Elise Stefanik (R-NY-21) introduced bipartisan legislation to alleviate the undue stress, expenses, and excessive wait times professionally employed military spouses experience when their family moves for a Permanent Change of Station on military orders.

“Military spouses wear their own patches of service and share a true sense of duty to our country,” said Congresswoman Stefanik. “These spouses are often employed in professions that require new licensing for each new location, such as teachers and nurses—vital occupations in a military community. These dedicated spouses must be allowed to maintain their hard-earned professional licenses and certifications as they relocate.  Military spouses serve too – and my bill will help alleviate unnecessary stress and expenses, help ease the transition, and will give these spouses and their families some deserved predictability.”

The Lift the Relocation Burden from Military Spouses Act will:

  • Require the Department of Defense to provide a reimbursement for licensing fees up to $500 for each Permanent Change of Station.
  • Expedite license portability.
  • Require the Department of Defense to conduct a study to determine ways to improve the military spouse unemployment and underemployment rate.

This legislation is supported by the Military Officers Association of America (MOAA), the National Military Spouse Network, and the National Military Family Association.

Joyce Wessel Raezer, Executive Director of the National Military Family Association: “Military spouses face many challenges that diminish the stability of their families…with each government ordered move, military spouses incur high costs for recertification or licensure. These delays impact their ability to work and contribute to the financial well-being of their families. This bill will help off-set the cost of government ordered moves to ensure career-military spouses can seek a new licensure or certification and become employed at their new duty location right away.”

Click here for bill text.

Original cosponsors of this legislation include: Reps. Brad Ashford (D-NE-02), Sanford Bishop (D-GA-02), Rob Bishop (R-UT-01), Barbara Comstock (R-VA-10), Paul Cook (R-CA-08), Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26), Chris Gibson (R-NY-19), Walter Jones (R-NC-03), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH-09), Grace Meng (D-NY-09), Beto O’Rourke (D-TX-16), Martha Roby (R-AL-02), Marc Veasey (D-TX-33), and Rob Wittman (R-VA-01).