Watertown, NY – Today, Congresswoman Elise Stefanik (R-NY-21) issued the following statement applauding the announcement by U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack declaring Jefferson and Lewis Counties as primary natural disaster areas due to the ongoing drought:

“This is welcome news for our North Country farmers who have been affected by this devastating drought,” said Congresswoman Stefanik. “I am pleased my office has been able to work with local farmers throughout our district, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), the regional Farm Service Agency, the Jefferson County Local Development Corporation, and the Cornell Cooperative Extension on this critical issue. This new designation means more resources for affected farms and I commend the USDA for this announcement.”

Congresswoman Stefanik has written two letters to USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack, asking him to review data associated with our district and to expedite a Jefferson County drought declaration. They can be found here and here.