Washington, D.C. – Today, Congresswoman Elise Stefanik’s legislation, the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commemorative Coin Act, was signed into law by President Trump. This bill was introduced along with Congresswoman Brenda Lawrence (D-MI-14) in May of this year, and passed by the House of Representatives last month. The companion bill in the Senate, led by Senator Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) and Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), was passed by the Senate shortly after. This legislation authorizes the Department of Treasury to mint 400,000 $1 silver coins in 2020 to celebrate the 100th anniversary of women’s suffrage and ensures that the suffragists who dedicated their lives to fighting for women’s fundamental right to vote are celebrated throughout the United States.

“I am honored that President Trump signed the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commemorative Coin Act into law this afternoon,” said Congresswoman Stefanik. “One of the most vocal advocates for women’s suffrage, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, was born and raised in Johnstown, New York, and I am looking forward to celebrating the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th amendment in my district next year. The majority of voters in our country are women, and it is my hope that this legislation will encourage women across the country to continue to be active participants in civic life. I’m grateful to my colleagues and the President for supporting this bipartisan legislation.”

To watch Congresswoman Stefanik speak on the House Floor last month in support of her legislation, click here.