Washington, D.C. – Congresswoman Elise Stefanik voted today in favor of the bipartisan Secure 5G and Beyond Act, a bill she co-led alongside U.S. Representatives Abigail Spanberger (D-VA-07), Susan W. Brooks (R-IN-05), Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ-01), Francis Rooney (R-FL-19), and Elissa Slotkin (D-MI-08). This legislation would protect next-generation telecommunications systems and mobile infrastructure in the United States by requiring the administration to develop an unclassified national strategy to protect U.S. consumers, and assist allies in maximizing the security of their 5G telecommunications systems.

“I am proud to pass this important bill to provide clarity and inter-agency strategy to secure 5th generation and future-generation telecommunications systems and infrastructure across the United States,” said Congresswoman Stefanik. “Ensuring the United States remains a leading global competitor in both the economy and technology is critical to the future of our nation. This bipartisan legislation requires the President to implement a strategy to secure these systems and maximize their security. I look forward to the bills implementation, and to protecting the competitiveness of American companies and the privacy of American consumers.”