Washington, D.C. – Congresswoman Elise Stefanik today announced the 13 U.S. military servicemembers who were killed in Afghanistan in August will be posthumously awarded the Congressional Gold Medal.
“These brave servicemembers made the ultimate sacrifice for our country, and now they will finally receive the recognition they deserve,” Stefanik said. “They gave their lives working to evacuate Americans and our Afghan allies and are deserving of this honor. I am proud to join my colleagues in remembering their legacy in this way. We must never forget their sacrifice.”
The legislation, introduced by Congresswoman Lisa McClain (R-Mich.), will award the Congressional Gold Medal to Staff Sgt. Darin T. Hoover, Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole L. Gee, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan W. Page, Cpl. Humberto A. Sanchez, Lance Cpl. David L. Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared M. Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee J. McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan R. Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem M. Nikoui, Corpsman Maxton W. Soviak, and Staff Sgt. Ryan C. Knauss.
In August, Stefanik joined her colleagues in introducing this legislation. In October, Stefanik voted to advance this legislation. On Thursday, President Biden signed this legislation into law.