Today, Congresswoman Elise Stefanik introduced a resolution, co-led by Congresswoman Ashley Hinson, and co-sponsored by several House Republicans, to oppose any plans by the United States Department of Defense to deliver COVID-19 vaccines to prisoners held at Guantanamo Bay detention facility (GITMO) and detained during operations conducted during the Global War on Terrorism until all Americans have had the opportunity to be vaccinated; and asserts that efforts by the United States Government to provide vaccinations for COVID-19 should prioritize United States citizens.

The resolution follows the Biden Administration’s order to offer COVID-19 vaccinations to GITMO detainees. After bipartisan scrutiny and increased pressure to rescind the order, the Pentagon stated it will pause the plan for further review. This resolution effectively states that no terrorist shall receive a COVID-19 vaccination before any American citizen.

Congresswoman Stefanik issued the following statement, “It is inexcusable and un-American that President Biden is prioritizing vaccines for terrorist detainees over American citizens, including veterans, first responders, 9/11 first responders, and seniors. Every American should have access to vaccines before these heinous terrorists.”

Congresswoman Hinson added,  “It is appalling that under the Biden Administration, terrorists held in GITMO were going to cut the line to receive the COVID-19 vaccine ahead of American citizens. Meanwhile, thousands of Iowans, including frontline workers, first responders, teachers, and seniors are still waiting to receive the vaccine. It is infuriating that terrorists, including those responsible for the 9/11 attack, were put ahead of Iowans. This legislation calls on the Administration to ensure American citizens have access to the vaccine before terrorists.”

Read the full resolution co-sponsored by Representatives Hinson (IA-1), Scalise (LA-1), Babin (TX-36), DesJarlais (TN-4), McCaul (TX-10), Comer (KY-1), Burchett (TN-2), Baird (IN-4), Moore (AL-2), Bacon (NE-2), Pfluger (TX-11), Roy (TX-21), T. Kelly (MS-1), Crawford (AK-1), M. Garcia (CA-25), Lamborn (CO-5), Sessions (TX-17), Herrell (NM-2), Boebert (CO-3), R. Jackson (TX-13), Cline (VA-6), Salazar (FL-27), Good (VA-5), Keller (PA-12), Mann (KS-1), Gooden (TX-5), Kustoff (TN-8), Lesko (AZ-8), Brooks (AL-5), Murphy (NC-3), Zeldin (NY-1), Bishop (UT-1), Steil (WI-1), Norman (SC-5), Davidson (OH-8), R. Williams (TX-25), and Malliotakis (NY-11), [[{"fid":"1507","view_mode":"default","fields":{"format":"default"},"link_text":"here","type":"media","field_deltas":{"1":{"format":"default"}},"attributes":{"class":"media-element file-default","data-delta":"1"}}]].