Washington, D.C. – Congresswoman Elise Stefanik today announced the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is granting $377,893 to seven North Country fire departments in Jefferson, St. Lawrence, Lewis, Clinton, and Washington Counties.

“Our North Country firefighters selflessly answer the call to serve day or night, and now these taxpayer dollars are being returned to our district to support the hard work of our fire departments,” Stefanik said. “I am proud to work to ensure these frontline workers have the funding they need to effectively protect our communities and are equipped to keep themselves safe.”

A breakdown of the funding can be seen below:

  • $42,952 – Deferiet Volunteer Fire Company
  • $20,571 – Richville Volunteer Fire Department       
  • $47,569 – Alexandria Bay Volunteer Fire Department        
  • $145,511 – West Leyden Fire Company       
  • $28,352 – Village of Rouses Point
  • $47,617 – Hebron Volunteer Fire Company
  • $45,321 – Village of Greenwich