Washington, D.C. – Congresswoman Elise Stefanik, a senior member of the House Armed Services Committee, joined House Armed Services Committee Lead Republican Mike Rogers (R-AL), House Foreign Affairs Committee Lead Republican Michael McCaul (R-TX), House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence Lead Republican Mike Turner (R-OH) in introducing the Never Yielding Europe’s Territory (NYET) Act to send a clear deterrent signal to Russia about the additional devastating consequences it would incur for a further invasion of Ukraine.

This bill will impose meaningful sanctions on the Putin regime now for its destabilizing military buildup and the hybrid attacks it has already launched against Ukraine. The legislation also authorizes significant additional support for Ukraine and our NATO allies on the eastern flank now, during, and after an increasingly likely Russian escalation.

“Swift and severe consequences must be imposed against Russia if there is any invasion of Ukraine,” Stefanik said. “Joe Biden’s slow support for Ukraine and weakness on the world stage has emboldened Vladimir Putin’s aggression against the sovereign and democratic state of Ukraine. Each day without the passage of this sanctions package only emboldens Putin at the expense of global democracy and American credibility. This legislation sends an unmistakable message to Putin: the United States will cripple the Russian economy in the event of an invasion, and we will support every effort of our democratic partners to resist a Russian invasion.”

Click here for more specifics on this legislation.