Washington, D.C.  – Congresswoman Elise Stefanik has released the below statement following the Department of Homeland Security’s announcement that the non-essential travel restrictions along the U.S. – Canada border have been extended through December 21st, 2020.

“Following Acting Secretary Wolf’s statement today, I once again remain committed to working with the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and the Canadian government to establish a comprehensive plan to safely reopen the border,” said Congresswoman Stefanik. “DHS is working closely with both the Canadian and Mexican governments to ensure that, in the meantime, essential trade and travel still continues. I understand the importance of the U.S.-Canadian economic partnership and its role within our North Country communities. I will continue to communicate with our local stakeholders, elected officials, and with my colleagues to restore cross-border travel.”