Washington, DC – Today, Congresswoman Elise Stefanik (R-NY-21) cosponsored the bipartisan Secure America from Russian Interference Act of 2018. This package of legislation includes two bills coauthored by Rep. Stefanik, the Countering Foreign Propaganda Act and the Defend Against Russian Disinformation Act.

“As a Member of the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence and the House Armed Services Committee, I continue to be a leader in Congress on countering Russian aggression,” said Congresswoman Stefanik. “In addition to the legislation I have authored and helped pass, I have supported $400 million in added funds to enhance election security. I am pleased to work across the aisle on this legislative package to bolster American Security and strengthen our NATO alliances.”


The Secure America from Russian Interference Act of 2018

Specific bills included in the Secure America from Russian Interference Act are:

H.R. 463: Crimea Annexation Non-Recognition Act – Rep. Gerry Connolly (VA-11) & Rep. Steve Chabot (OH-01)

Legislation to prohibit recognition of the Russian annexation of Crimea. 

H.R. 530: Safeguard Our Elections and Combat Unlawful Interference in Our Democracy (SECURE Our Democracy) Act – Rep. Eliot Engel (NY-16) and Rep. Gerry Connolly (VA-11)

Legislation to impose sanctions on any country for election interference.

H.R. 2145: No Russia Exemptions for Oil Production Act (No REX) Act – Rep. Maxine Waters (CA-43)

Legislation to prohibit the Department of Treasury from providing licenses for U.S. individuals to engage in joint energy activities that may produce oil in Russia or its jurisdiction.

H.R. 2586: Report on Influence and Subversion by the Kremlin (RISK) Act – Rep. Salud Carbajal (CA-24)

Legislation to require the State Department to submit to Congress an assessment of subversive activities by the Russian Federation. 

H.R. 2812: Enhance Partner Cyber Capabilities Act – Rep. Lou Correa (CA-46)

Legislation to develop a strategy for the offensive use of cyber capabilities by federal agencies. 

H.R. 2820: Fight Russia Corruption Act – Rep. Tom Suozzi (NY-03) & Rep. Peter Roskam (IL-06)

Legislation to require the establishment of the Office of Anti-Corruption within the State Department, and require the State Department to provide assistance to European countries combatting corruption. 

H.R. 2924: National Russian Threat Response Center – Rep. Joe Kennedy (MA-04)

Legislation to establish a fusion center within the Office of the Director of National Intelligence to integrate U.S. efforts against Russia.

H.R. 4077: Honest Ads Act – Rep. Derek Kilmer (WA-06) & Rep. Mike Coffman (CO-06)

Legislation to require disclosure for online political advertisements. 

H.R. 4348: Keeping Russian Entrapments Minimal and Limiting Intelligence Network (KREMLIN) Act – Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08)

Legislation to require reporting on Kremlin political intentions. 


H.R. 5011: Election Security Act – Rep. Bennie Thompson (MS-02)

Legislation to require the designation of election infrastructure as critical infrastructure.

H.R. 5216: Directing Implementation of Sanctions and Accountability for Russian Mischief (DISARM) Act – Rep. Denny Heck (WA-10) & Rep. Leonard Lance (NJ-07)

Legislation to impose sanctions on senior political figures and oligarchs in the Russian Federation.

H.R. 5354: Countering Foreign Propaganda Act – Rep. Seth Moulton (MA-06) & Rep. Elise Stefanik (NY-21)

Legislation to require enhanced reporting under FARA for U.S.-based foreign media.

H.R. 5428: Stand with UK Against Russia Violation Act – Rep. Joaquin Castro (TX-20) & Rep. Mike Turner (OH-10)

Legislation to sanction Russia for the poisoning of a Russian dissident. 

HR 5910: Defend Against Russian Disinformation and Aggression Act – Rep. Val Demings (FL-10) & Rep. Elise Stefanik (NY-21)

Legislation to codify the State Department sanctions office; require reporting on Putin’s bank accounts; and authorize enhanced NATO cooperation. 

H.R. 6224: Protect European Energy Security Act – Rep. Denny Heck (WA-10) & Rep. Ted Poe (TX-02)

Legislation to require reporting on Russia’s efforts to subvert European energy independence and an assessment of the Nord Stream2 pipeline.

H.R. 6423: Punishing Russia’s Continuing Occupation of Ukraine Act – Rep. Steve Cohen (TN-09)

Legislation to sanction Russian institutions with ties to the Kremlin in response to Putin’s ongoing attacks in Ukraine.

H.R. 6426: Combating Putin’s Repression (CPR) for Russian Civil Society Act – Rep. Adriano Espaillat (NY-13)

Legislation to authorize outreach to Russian people and expose Putin’s malign activities.